Directors and Committees

Stuart Gall

Chief Executive Officer

Stuart was appointed Chief Executive Officer in 2009. Stuart was a joint founder and executive director of Fusion IP plc, an AIM listed university IP commercialisation company, before its purchase by IP Group plc for £103 million in 2014. Stuart has over 25 years’ experience in both small company start-ups and public companies and previously worked at British Airways plc, The Promotions Partnership Limited, Anvil Limited and Toad plc (now 21st Century Technology plc).

Ingeborg Oie

Non-Executive Director

Ingeborg joined the board in May 2021. Ingeborg has outstanding financial, corporate governance and investor relations experience, having been a medical devices and healthcare services analyst at Goldman Sachs and Jefferies, CFO of next-generation surgical robotics company, CMR Surgical. Ingeborg is currently Chief Strategy Officer of digital health company Huma. She was also a Non-executive Director of Georgia Healthcare Group, the largest healthcare services provider in Georgia, that prior to its acquisition by Georgia Capital Plc in 2020, was listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Helen Jones

Chief Financial Officer

Helen was appointed Chief Financial Officer in January 2020. She is a graduate of Cardiff University where she studied French and Spanish. She qualified as a chartered accountant with PwC in 2004. Prior to joining Intelligent Ultrasound, she held the position of Group Financial Controller of Amerisur Resources Plc, an AIM quoted oil and gas company, and spent over 10 years in various senior group finance and tax roles within Tata Steel Europe.

Riccardo Pigliucci

Non-Executive Chairman

Riccardo was appointed Chairman of the board of Intelligent Ultrasound in 2012. He has more than 30 years’ experience of guiding private and publically listed high technology companies and brings a wide range of experience in sales, marketing, operations, financing, acquisitions and public offerings within the medical sector. He is a former President, COO, and Board Member of The Perkin Elmer Corporation, has served as CEO of Life Sciences International plc, CEO of Discovery Partners International was on the Board of Dionex, a public company purchased by Thermo Fisher for more than $2 billion in December 2010 and most recently was on the board of DVS Sciences, sold in January 2014 to Fluidigm for $207 million.

Nick Avis

Non-Executive Director

Nick was the Scientific Director of Intelligent Ultrasound in its formative years and was appointed to the board of Intelligent Ultrasound in 2006. Nick was one of the architects of the One Wales Research Institute for Visual Computing and the NISCHR BRU in Advanced Medical Image Analysis and Visualisation. He was a founding member of the COSMOS (Collaborative Online Social Media Observatory) and is currently the Executive Dean at the Faculty of Science and Engineering of the University of Chester.

Nick Sleep

Chief Technology Officer

Nick was appointed Chief Technology Officer in August 2012. Before joining the Group, Nick ran his own consultancy specialising in providing management support to early stage companies, one of his clients being Intelligent Ultrasound. Nick is a software engineer by background, but has also run companies in areas as diverse as stem cell therapeutics and biofuels. Previous companies include The Technology Partnership, The Automation Partnership, Procognia and Magnecell.

Michèle Lesieur

Non-Executive Director

Michèle joined the board in September 2021. Michèle has significant experience in the medical imaging industry as well as corporate governance, and investor relations having been CEO of Philips France and General Manager of Philips Healthcare France and most recently CEO of Euronext listed Supersonic Imagine and Non-executive Director of EOS Imaging, a formerly listed software medtech company. Michèle remains Chairman of the Board of Intrasense, a listed software medtech company and Non-executive Director of Prodways Group, a listed 3D printing company.

Christian Guttmann

Non-Executive Director

Christian joined the Board on 15 August 2022. Dr Guttmann is a recognised leader in shaping the global agenda on AI regulation and standards, as well as having outstanding AI research, development and AI commercialisation experience. He has edited and authored seven books, over 50 publications and has three patents in the field of AI. Christian is currently an Executive Director of the Nordic Artificial Intelligence Institute (NAII) and Vice President and Global Head of Artificial Intelligence and Data at TietoEVRY in Sweden. He has built over 100 novel AI systems and products and has been an organiser / steering committee member at major AI conferences. As a founder of the Nordic AI Institute, he advises governments, thinktanks and businesses around the world.

Audit and Risk committee

The Audit and Risk Committee has the primary responsibility for monitoring the quality of internal controls and ensuring that the financial performance of the Group is properly measured and reported on. It receives and reviews reports from the Group’s management and external auditors relating to the interim and annual accounts and the accounting and internal control systems in use throughout the Group. The Audit and Risk Committee meets not less than twice in each financial year and has unrestricted access to the Group’s external auditors. The Audit and Risk Committee is chaired by Ingeborg Oie and also includes Michele Lesieur and Christian Guttmann.

View Audit and Risk Committee Terms of Reference

Remuneration committee

The Remuneration Committee is chaired by Michele Lesieur and also includes Nick Avis and Ingeborg Oie. The Remuneration Committee reviews the performance of the executive directors and makes recommendations to the Board on matters relating to their remuneration and terms of service. The Remuneration Committee also makes recommendations to the Board on proposals for the granting of share options and other equity incentives pursuant to any employee share option scheme or equity incentive plan in operation from time to time. The Remuneration Committee meets as and when necessary. In exercising this role, the Directors have regard to the recommendations put forward in the UK Corporate Governance Code and the QCA Corporate Governance Code for Small and Mid-size Quoted Companies 2013.

View Remuneration Committee Terms of Reference

Nomination committee

Given the Company’s current maturity and the nature of its current board composition, the Company has established a more focused Nomination Committee to lead its process for appointments and oversee the development of a diverse pipeline for succession. The Committee will be chaired by Riccardo Pigliucci and also includes Ingeborg Oie, Michele Lesieur and Nick Avis. The terms of reference for the Committee are based on the ICSA guidelines attached below.

View the ICSA Nomination Committee terms of reference guidelines